by Alan Beaven Club Secretary
In October of 1957 members of the Old Windsor Sports and Social Club decided to create an angling section, this was the birth of Old Windsor Angling Club.
Subscriptions were 10/- (50p) half of which was payable to the parent Club with weekly contributions of 1/- (5p). The HQ was the Tapestry Hall, Old Windsor.
In 2007/08, OWAC celebrated its Golden Anniversary and the Newsletters that year reported items from the minutes of the Club Meetings. This information is available to members on request, and a copy is in the Clubhouse, along with scrapbooks of press cuttings, etc.
How things have changed! Since those early days, OWAC has altered many times, but has always been a friendly Members Club based on Thames River fishing, with a varied match fixture list visiting many other fisheries and Clubs.
The club runs a Team Invitation Match which has been running for many years, but which, in 2020, had to be cancelled due to Covid-19.
The present HQ is our Clubhouse at Home Park, Windsor, which we originally shared with a local football club. Now we are managing the fishing along Home Park on behalf of The Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead, we really are THE local club.
Old Windsor Angling Club is a member of Angling Trust, supports the good work being done by Les Webber MBE ("Get Kids hooked on Fishing not drugs or crime") and is affiliated to Thames Valley Angling Association and the Basingstoke Canal Angling Association.
What does the future hold for the club......... who knows?